SFA Celtic shocker – is the tide changing?

SFA Celtic shocker – is the tide changing?
GLASGOW, SCOTLAND - SEPTEMBER 01: Celtic captain Scott Brown interacts with Alfredo Morelos of Rangers during the Ladbrokes Premiership match between Rangers and Celtic at Ibrox Stadium on September 01, 2019 in Glasgow, Scotland. (Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)

With the announcement that the SFA is to look at Scott Brown’s off the ball elbow to Aaron Tshibola, we will watch with interest to see what punishment he receives.

For too long Teflon has rained down on Celtic, and Monsieur Brown has been able to lead with high elbows to the face so often I was beginning to wonder if the SFA thought they were in charge of MMA.

The sad fact is, it is only because we have been shouting out the massive difference in the way Alfredo is being treated that we just might see (this time?) others facing a three-match ban.

The fact is dangerous play, by anyone, needs to be looked at.

There is no reason why any player should face a career ending injury, or a month fixing a broken nose, because it’s just the way the game is played here.

Especially when it seems the refs are too often looking the other way, or they just happen to be taking a wee nap, when certain players are the culprits. Not that we are saying the referees are biased.

If the SFA is to be considered a professional body (you can stop laughing now…I can hear you) they have to treat everyone the same.

So, will the SFA finally show some balls (even billiard size ones) and start hauling players who name is not Alfredo Morelos over the hot coals?

We will wait and see. Amazing things do happen….

No posts to display


  1. Oh dear how good would that be …..It won’t happen for lots of reasons that are too political and , green leaning for that to be the step change we mostly want in Scotland . Let’s see ??

  2. Surprise surprise Brown cleared again. Meanwhile Sportscene seem to want to make a case for Kemar Roofe to receive a red card while at the same time our good friend Michael Stewart seems to be the only one is Scotland who doesn’t believe Ajeti dived to win the penalty at Kilmarnock. Even the numpties at the SPFL couldn’t agree with him on that one.

Comments are closed.